Alain Delarque

President of ESPRM 2015-2019

Henk Stam

Past President (2003-2007)

Alessandro Giustini

Past President (2007-2011)

Xanthi Michail

Past President (2011-2015)

The European Society of PRM was founded in 2003, changing the European Federation of the PRM Societies which was created in 1963.

The National societies (which in 1963 were only 5) had reached the number of 34 plus 3 cooperative

In this period PRM strongly enriched its role all over Europe, gaining responsibilities in Health Services in many Countries (unfortunately having many differences in educational and professional fields) and receiving some acknowledgments by the European bodies too.

The Federation had become unsuitable in relation to these great changes, and due to its organizational complexity, as well as due to many important elements which asked for the creation of a new Organism:

  • The integration among the European Countries and at the same time the complexity of the institutional, social and scientific relationships;
  • The communal activities in the research, education and innovation field;
  • The growth of a “mutual feeling” among the European citizens with regards to the Health needs in general and to Rehabilitation in particular.

That is why in 2003 the European Society was founded, whose memberships are available also to individual members specialized in PRM, although the participation of National Societies remains its central element.

Furthermore, the role of the Society is strengthened with regards to its cooperation with other organisms (i.e. UEMS and Academy) which work at European level in the Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine field, as well as at International level with both other organisms and the International Society.

In these years, several colleagues have participated in the development of ESPRM, with various tasks and with many contributions with colleagues from all the European Countries.

For further information, visit www.esprm.net